The Prim Community received $4,504.50

Department of Rural Services Director Butch Calhoun presented $170,069.19 to 16 rural communities selected for Fiscal Year 2012 Cycle 3 funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program at an awards ceremony on May 24 held at the Arkansas Rural Development Conference in Eureka Springs.

In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Community Development Grant award on behalf of Prim in Cleburne County. The Prim Community received $4,504.50 to add a porch onto their community center and purchase swings and basketball backboards.

This year's conference, hosted by the Department of Rural Services and the Arkansas Rural Development Commission, was held May 22 – May 24.  Keynote speakers throughout the conference included Lt. Governor Mark Darr, Attorney General Dustin McDaniel, and Eureka Springs Mayor Morris Pate.  Also in attendance were state legislators and over 600 mayors, county judges, fire services personnel, state and federal agency representatives and local community leaders representing all areas of rural Arkansas.  Our Rural Advocate of the Year is Senator Randy Laverty.  Senator Laverty was awarded with a plaque during the luncheon on Wednesday.

The Department of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year.  Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office.

For more information about the Department of Rural Services and their grant programs contact Butch Calhoun at 1-888-RURAL-AR.