Early voting for the primary elections will begin next Monday, May 5th, at the Cleburne County Courthouse in Heber Springs

Early voting for the primary elections will begin next Monday, May 5th, at the Cleburne County Courthouse in Heber Springs.  The early voting period will last for two weeks until the regular primary election day on May 20th, at which time voting will take place at assigned polling locations around the county.


Early voting can be done at the Courthouse Monday through Friday from May 5th to May 18th from 8am to 6pm and Monday, May 19th, from 8am to 5pm.  Early voting can also be done on two Saturdays in this period.  One on Saturday, May 10th, from 10am to 4pm, and one on Saturday, May 17th, from 10am to 4pm.


Remember that Arkansas has an open primary system, so voters can request the ballot of any party to vote regardless of their party affiliation, but in the event of a runoff, you can only vote in the party you originally chose for the primary.


The Cleburne County Clerk’s Office would like residents to know about a convenient and informative feature available to all registered voters. The feature is called Voter View and is made available by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Office.  Registered voters can go online, enter their information, and conveniently see their voter registration information and see sample ballots as they will appear on the screens for any upcoming elections.  To go check out your information and see your sample ballot, visit the Arkansas Secretary of State website at www.sos.arkansas.gov or you can search Voter View Arkansas online and that will lead you to the site.


The following is a list of candidates who have primary opponents that will appear on the Democratic and Republican primary ballots this year:




Governor – Mike Ross, Lynette “Doc” Bryant


Sheriff – Jeff Bittle, Bob Sherill




Governor – Asa Hutchinson, Curtis Coleman


Lieutenant Governor – Representative Debra Hobbs, Congressman Tim Griffin, State Representative Andy Mayberry


Attorney General – Patricia Nation, David Sterling, Leslie Rutledge


State Treasurer – Representative Duncan Baird, Circuit Clerk Dennis Milligan


Auditor of State – Ken Yang, Representative Andrea Lea


State Senator District 18 – Senator Missy Thomas Irvin, Phil Grace


Sheriff – Don Sims, Richard Swain, Brian Haile, Josh Johnston


County Coroner – County Coroner Warren Olmstead, Darriel Ezell


Non-Partisan Judicial General Election


State Supreme Court Associate Justice Position 2 – Court of Appeals Judge Robin Wynne, Tim Cullen