Tuesday saw some definitive winners, but Republican race for Sheriff goes into runoff

Tuesday’s primary election determined a number of candidates for the November general election, settled a heated State Senate race, and narrowed down a large and often controversial election for Cleburne County Sheriff on the Republican side.


With the ruling against Josh Johnston’s eligibility, the race for the Republican nomination narrowed down to three candidates.  Since any votes for Johnston could not be counted or certified, the total number of votes and percentages he received were not released by the Clerk’s office.  The final numbers released gave Don Sims 954 votes, Richard Swain 1098 votes, and Brian Haile 681 votes.  None of the candidates received the necessary 51% of the votes, so Swain and Sims will face each other in a runoff election to be held on June 10th.  The winner of that runoff will face Democrat Bob Sherrill in November.


In a race that was being watched statewide, incumbent Senator Missy Irvin warded off a challenge by Phil Grace. Irvin received 2209 votes in Cleburne to Grace’s 1612.  For all of District 18, Irvin received 6449 votes to Grace’s 3604.  Because Irvin faces no opponent in the November election, this was the determining race in her re-election.


County Coroner Waren Olmstead defeated a challenge from Darriel Ezell and will continue as Coroner.  Jesse Pate defeated Frank Evans for JP District 1, which makes him JP for that district next year.  JP Alan Malone survived a challenge from Angie Mix for the Republican nomination but will face Democrat Pat McGary in the November elections. 


Here are the full results from Cleburne County of Tuesday’s primary:


Governor - Mike Ross (1080), Lynette "Doc" Bryant (162)

Sheriff - Jeff Bittle (585), Bob Sherrill (664)

Governor - Asa Hutchinson (2445), Curtis Coleman (1387)

Lt. Governor - Debra Hobbs (539), Tim Griffin (2530), Andy Mayberry (657)

Attorney General - Patricia Nation (522), David Sterling (1378), Leslie Rutledge (1708)

State Treasurer - Duncan Baird (1581), Dennis Milligan (1929)

Auditor of State - Ken Yang (959), Andrea Lea (2565)

State Senate 18 - Missy Thomas Irvin (2209), Phil Grace (1612)

Sheriff - Don Sims (954), Richard Swain (1098), Brian Haile (681)

County Coroner - Waren Olmstead (2068), Darriel Ezell (1734)

JP 1 - Jesse Pate (176), Frank Evans (76)

JP 5 - Angie Mix (157), Alan Malone (206)

State Supreme Court Associate Justice 2 - Robin Wynne (2550), Tim Cullen (2151)

Greers Ferry 1% Sales and Use Tax - For (97), Against (93)