The 28th Annual World Championship Cardboard Boat Races entertained crowds at Sandy Beach in Heber Springs once again

The 28th Annual World Championship Cardboard Boat Races took place at Sandy Beach in Heber Springs last Saturday.  Visitors from all over the country attended the popular annual event to see this year’s selection of amazing cardboard creations.


Heat indexes hovered around the 100’s Saturday, but that didn’t stop a health crowd from packing Sandy Beach.  Sand sculpting and the treasure dig kicked off the morning events, along with the Ron Carmack Memorial Volleyball Tournament, which took place throughout the course of the event. 


This year’s Pride of the Fleet award went to the Hillbilly Wagon, captained by Ryan Boegh of Morrilton.  The Hillbilly Wagon was the hands down favorite of the crowd.  For a video of the Hillbilly Wagon in action, see the video on our website at


The following is the list of winners from this year’s races.  Winners’ photos will be published in Friday’s edition of The Sun-Times


Youth 1-2 Person

1st – Liberty, Captain Matthew West of Sherwood (time 1min, 34sec)

2nd – Private King, Captain Parker King of Little Rock (time 2min, 57.6sec)


Youth Team

1st – Bobby’s Bait Shop, Captain Bobby Cox of Higden (time 1min, 35.08sec)

2nd – The Quack Pack, Captain Hailey Standford of Heber Springs (time 2min, 35sec)


Adult 1-2 Person

1st – Red Hot Chili Pepper , Captain Johnny Sanchez of Alexander, AR (time 1min, 8.1sec)

2nd – Scuffy , Captain Alice Beavers of Heber Springs (time 1min, 18.03sec)


Adult Team

1st – Jet Stream Team, Captain Darcy Sackwar of North Little Rock (time 1min, .1sec)

2nd – Land of the Oars, Captain Stephen Lynn of North Little Rock (time 1min, 17.5sec)

3rd – Code Blue, Captain Zachary Glover of Benton (time 1min, 18.7sec)


Anne Pressly Memorial Award

KATV, Captain Janelle Lilly of Little Rock


Pride of the Fleet

Hillbilly Wagon (Green Bay Packaging), Captain Ryan Boegh of Morrilton


Captain’s Award

JAWS (BHP Billiton), Captain Don Gatewood of Searcy


Titanic Award

Pate Express (Holiday Inn Express), Captain Stephen Pate of Damascus


Sandcastle Youth Winners

1st – Jasie & Allie of Wynne

2nd – Jordan Mangum of Collierville, Tennessee

3rd – The Brats – Jacksonville


Sandcastle Adult Winners

1st – Redneck Girls of Jacksonville

2nd – Barbara Drummer of Wynne


Watermelon Contest Winners

Children – Cameron Lyke of Heber Springs

Teen – Christian Adams of Drasco

Adult – Cassandra Bobart of Maumelle


Ron Carmack Memorial Volleyball Tournament


1st place – Insulin Spike – Michael Ludwig of Heber Springs, Andrew Hill of Heber Springs, Michael Bryant of Heber Springs, Gunner Nelson of Heber Springs, and Landon Glover of Heber Springs.


2nd place – Thunder – Trey Jackson of Quitman, Chase Stewart of Quitman, Sheldon Mines of Quitman, Hunter Bridges of Quitman, CJ Cannon of Heber Springs, and Justin Whithurst of Greers Ferry