Nine area graduating high school seniors received scholarships totaling $11,250 at a Thursday, April 27, meeting and awards ceremony of the Rotary Club of Cleburne County.

Recipients include: Hali Bish, Savannah Childress and Ethan Gachot of Heber Springs; Bailey James and Karlie Stubbs of Concord; Emily Davidson and Randon Carlton of Greers Ferry West Side; and Haleigh Valentine and Maggie Webb of Quitman.

Each student received $1,250 to the college of their choice for the 2017-18 academic year. Rotary scholarship committee members include Rena Kelly, Bruce Ziegenbalg and Sharon Dixon. Gachot received additional scholarship funding from Ziegenbalg, in memory of the public service of Ethan's father, David, who was with the Heber Springs Police Department and an Honorary Rotarian because of his leadership with the local club's Car Seat Safety Inspection program. 

The club meets at 7 a.m. Thursdays at the Red Apple Inn. Interested persons are invited to attend. For more information please contact Mark Johnson, president, at 501-362-5858 or visit the club website: