The Heber Springs Lady Panther and Panther cross country teams swept the team titles at the Bulldog Invitational at Bald Knob Tuesday afternoon, as the Jr. Panthers took second place behind Southside Batesville.
The Jr. Girls race saw the host Bald Knob take the team title after narrowly defeating Salem 69-73. Melbourne’s Kenley McCarn took the individual title after clocking in at 9:25.10. Tayden Hartwick led the victorious Jr. Lady Bulldogs with a fifth-place finish with a time of 10:06.30. Maygan Jarvis (17th, 10:53.90), Vallie Cantrell (41st, 11:59.00), and Riley Baily (53rd, 13:15.00) all competed for Heber Springs.
Southside took gold in the Jr. Boys race, edging Heber Springs 39-49 as freshmen Brycen Sutton (3rd, 8:51.40) and Jonathan Shane (7th, 9.39.40) were the top finishers for the Jr. Southerners. For the runner-up Jr. Panthers, Nathan Poff (9:41.40) and Gabe Tate (9:41.80) finished ninth and tenth respectively, with Morgan Salesman close behind at thirteenth with a time of 9:50.50. Jake Baltimore of Manila won the race at 8:34.80.
Switching to senior high action, the Lady Panthers bested Melbourne 45-60 after Ali Jones (3rd, 22:28.10), McKenzie Becerra (6th, 22:46.50), and Sydney Buffalo (10th, 23:26.70) all placed in the top-ten as Taylor Hammons (23:48.50) finished in thirteenth. Freshman Kiley Webb of Melbourne won the race after clocking in at 20:20.10, securing the girls individual title sweep for the Jr. Lady Bearkatz and Lady Bearkatz.
The Panthers locked up the pulling of the broom on senior high titles after coasting past Episcopal Collegiate 52-89. Senior Lane Carter led the way for Heber by taking fifth place with a time of 19:01.20, followed by Brian Brown (7th, 19:17.00) and Beau Tucker (8th, 19:18.10) also providing top-ten finishes for the team. Fischer Miller of Sloan Hendrix placed first on the board with a time of 17:17.60.
Up next for the Lady Panthers and Panthers is the Class 4A State Cross Country Meet Friday, November 3 in Hot Springs on the infield of Oaklawn Park. The Sr. Boys will race first at 12:45 p.m., followed by the Sr. Girls race at 1:15 p.m.