Outstanding Student and faculty awards, along with more than $522,000 in transfer scholarships, were presented during the annual Arkansas State University-Beebe Student Awards Dinner held May 1, 2018, at the Dr. Eugene McKay Student Center.

Students were presented awards for leadership and outstanding achievement, as well as the Citizenship Award.  One faculty and one staff member were also recognized with distinguished service awards.

Dr. Suzanne Bailey, dean of the Career Education Division, presented the Outstanding Academic Student Award for the division to Emma Reed of Quitman, who is seeking an Associate of Science in Agriculture.

The Outstanding Student Organization Award was presented to the Agriculture Club. Members Emalee Marlin and Emma Reed, and Assistant Professor of Agriculture Jerry Sites, accepted the award for the organization.

At the conclusion of the program, Student Government Association officers accepted the oath of office from Interim Chancellor Roger Moore. Those elected to serve in the 2018-2019 academic year were president-elect Ashton Warner of Beebe, Student Activities Council chair-elect Kristopher Johnson of North Little Rock, and treasurer-elect Hannah Weaver of Beebe.

For more information about ASU-Beebe and its programs, call (501) 882-3600, or visit the ASU-Beebe website at www.asub.edu

Founded in 1927, Arkansas State University-Beebe is an operationally separate, two-year institution of the Arkansas State University System.  With campuses located in Beebe, Heber Springs, Searcy, the Little Rock Air Force Base, and online, the university offers associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and industry.  The Beebe campus also collaborates with Arkansas State, a four-year university in Jonesboro, to offer baccalaureate and graduate degrees on the Beebe campus. ASU-Beebe is nationally recognized by the Aspen Institute for student success rates.